Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


‘Oscars for geeks’ celebrate game-changing filmmaking technologies

Awards are voted for by members of the Hollywood creative and technology community working in motion pictures, television and emerging media

Microsoft, Adobe, Wētā FX and James Cameron were among the winners at the 17th annual Advanced Imaging Society’s Lumiere Awards, which celebrate creative teams working on both film and High-End TV series.

The awards are voted for by members of the Hollywood creative and technology community working in motion pictures, television and emerging media.

“Our awards have humorously been called the Oscars for geeks,” said Jim Chabin, AIS president. “But these honourees do give us insights into the future of movies. These Lumiere winners pushed the limits of technology and the results have been remarkable storytelling at its very best.”

(L-R) Honorees Jon Landau, Guillermo del Toro and Baz Luhrmann (Photo by Tommaso Boddi/Getty Images for The Advanced Imaging Society)

The Society’s Annual Sir Charles Wheatstone Award was presented to Wētā FX for creative excellence in visual effects. In selecting Wētā FX for the recognition, the Society said it was honouring the company’s development of the “most ground-breaking performance capture technology to emerge in our lifetime”.

Adobe was awarded the Lumiere for Innovation in Post Production Tools for pioneering affordable access to creative technology.

Microsoftwas presented with an Award for Innovation in Technology for its leadership in solving complex problems, particularly throughout the pandemic, enabling creative teams to seamlessly collaborate safely and securely from anywhere in the world.

The complete list of winners:

Best Feature Film – Live Action: Avatar: The Way of Water (20th Century Studios)
Best Feature Film – Animated: Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio (Netflix)
Best Documentary: Good Night Oppy (Amazon)
Best Motion Picture – Musical: Elvis (Warner Bros)
Best Audio – Theatrical: The Batman (Warner Bros.)
Best Audio – Episodic: Stranger Things: Season Four (Netflix)
Best Use of VR: Gorilla Trek (Immotion)
Best Original Song: Top Gun “Hold My Hand” (Paramount)
Best Use of High Dynamic Range – Feature Film: Lightyear (Pixar)
Best Use of High Dynamic Range – Episodic: I Am Groot (Marvel)
Best 2D to 3D Conversion: Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (Marvel Studios/ Disney)
Best Musical Scene or Sequence: Elvis (Warner Bros)
Best Scene or Sequence in a Feature Film: Top Gun: Maverick (Paramount)
Best Episodic – Animated: Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi (Lucasfilm/Disney)
Best Episodic – Live Action: Andor (Lucasfilm/Disney)
Best Achievement in 8K Production: Kansai TV’s “moments”

Sir Charles Wheatstone Award for Creative Excellence in Visual Effects: Wētā FX
Innovation in Technology Award: Microsoft
Innovation in Post Production Tools: Adobe
Distinguished Achievement in Education: Camera Assessment Series (HBO)

Voices For The Earth Award: James Cameron and Jon Landau, Avatar: The Way of Water
Gene Kelly Visionary Award: Damien Chazelle, Babylon
Harold Lloyd Award: Baz Luhrmann, Elvis