Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


This Country, Three Girls both win brace of British Academy Television Awards

Channel 5 won its first BAFTA since 2011

This Country and Three Girls topped the winners list at the British Academy Television Awards.

Both programmes won two awards at the ceremony. This Country received the BAFTA for Scripted Comedy and Daisy May Cooper won Female Performance in a Comedy Programme.

The BAFTA for Leading Actress was awarded to Molly Windsor for her performance in Three Girls. The drama also won Mini-Series, adding to the three BAFTAs it won at the British Academy Television Craft Awards in April.

Other acting winners included Vanessa Kirby for her work in The Crown; Toby Jones for The Detectorists and Sean Bean for Broken.

The Grand National triumphed in the Sport category, while the award for Live Event was presented to World War One Remembered: Passchendaele, following its two BAFTA wins at the recent British Academy Television Craft Awards.

Graham Norton won the sixth BAFTA of his career, winning for Entertainment Performance, his third for The Graham Norton Show.

Casualty was awarded the BAFTA for Soap and Continuing Drama. The series last won the same award in 2007.

Love Island received the BAFTA for Reality and Constructed Factual, and Channel 5 won its first BAFTA since 2011, for Cruising with Jane McDonald in the Features category.

Virgin TV’s Must-See Moment, the only award voted for by the public, was won by Blue Planet II for the “Mother Pilot Whale Grieves” moment.

The full list of winners can be found at BAFTA’s website.