Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Netflix, MPEG, EditShare, Haivision among Tech and Engineering Emmy winners

Annual awards will be presented during the NAB Show on 25h Apil

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has announced the winners of the 72nd annual Technology and Engineering Awards, including the likes of MPEG, Netflix, Vitec, Haivision, Primestream (Ross), Netflix and Go Pro.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony at the NAB Show on 25th April.

“As we award this latest class of technology Emmy Awards, it is amazing to look back at all the innovation that our industry has driven in increasingly short periods of time,” said Joe Inzerillo, co-chair, NATAS Technology Achievement Committee.  “This latest group typifies that spirit.”

“This year’s awarded categories and companies are a testament to the technological innovation we continue to see in the delivery, consumption and monetisation of television,” added Dina Weisberger, co-chair, NATAS Technology Achievement Committee.

This year’s winners include:

In Camera Sensor and Software Stabilisation

  • Go Pro
  • Socinext

Standardisation of Font Technology for Custom Downloadable Fonts and Typography for Web and TV Devices

  • MPEG
  • W3C – WebFonts Working Group

Common Key Technology of OTT Content

  • Apple
  • MLB Advanced Media
  • Microsoft
  • Netflix

Development of the Event Scheduling and Notification Interface (ESNI)

  • Cable Labs
  • OATC
  • SCTE

Cloud Enabled Remote Editing and Project Management

  • Arvato Systems Group
  • EditShare
  • Primestream (Ross)

Standardisation of HTTP Encapsulated Protocols

  • Apple
  • MLB Advanced Media
  • MPEG
  • 3GPP

Management of IP Multicast Video Distribution to Deskstops and TVs in News & Media Production Facilities

  • Haivision
  • Vitec