Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


BBC announces more board appointments

Five appointments confirmed

The BBC have announced five more appointments to its new board.

The full board, led by Sir David Clementi, will consist of 14 members and be responsible for governing the broadcaster, while Ofcom will act as regulator.

The five new non-executive directors are Simon Burke, Tanni Grey-Thompson, Ian Hargreaves, Tom Ilube and Nicholas Serota.

Clementi said: “I’m delighted to have been able to put together such a talented board with a broad range of skills and experience who will be able to ensure the BBC remains a first class broadcaster.

“The board will push the BBC to offer the highest quality, hold its executives to account on delivery, while protecting its independence to ensure licence fee payers get the very best programmes and services.”

The BBC executives joining Tony Hall, the corporation’s director-general, on the board are Anne Bulford, Ken MacQuarrie and Tim Davie.

Clementi added: “Under the new charter, four members of the board must be executive directors, and this number must include the BBC’s director-general.

“Reporting to the director-general is a senior team including Anne Bulford, Tim Davie, James Harding, Mark Linsey, Charlotte Moore, Ken MacQuarrie and James Purnell. All of them will regularly attend board meetings.”