Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


EBU confirms 41 countries for Eurovision

To be held at Rotterdam’s Ahoy Arena in May 2020

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) has announced that public broadcasters from 41 countries will take part in the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest.

The 65th Contest, organised by the EBU and its Dutch Members NPO, NOS and AVROTROS, will be held at Rotterdam’s Ahoy Arena on 12th, 14th and 16th May 2020.

The Semi-Finals will see 20 out of 35 competitors progress to the Grand Final, where they will be joined by the “Big Five” (France, Germany, Italy, Spain and UK) and hosts the Netherlands. The draw to decide the groupings for the two Semi-Finals will be held on 28th January.

The 2020 slogan was also revealed to be “Open Up”, inviting an estimated TV and online audience of over 180 million to “open up to others, to different opinions, each other’s stories and of course to each other’s music.”

“We are thrilled that so many public broadcasters will be presenting their nation’s best musical talent as we celebrate the 65th Eurovision Song Contest,” said Eurovision executive supervisor Jon Ola Sand. “The team from NPO, NOS and AVROTROS have three fantastic state-of-the-art shows planned and the excitement around the event in the Netherlands is incredible.”