Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Channel 4’s National Treasure leads RTS Programme Awards nominees

Robbie Coltrane and Julie Walters both receive nominations

Channel 4’s drama series National Treasure has secured four nominations at the Royal Television Society’s Programme Awards 2017.

The series is nominated in the mini-series category, and stars Julie Walters and Robbie Coltrane recognised in the Best Actress and Best Actors categories. Writer Jack Thorne is up for the Writer – Drama award.

Walters is nominated alongside Sophie Okenedo (Undercover) and Jodie Comer (Thirteen) while Coltrane faces competition from James Nesbitt (The Secret) and Adeel Akhtar (Murdered By My Father).

This year’s awards include the introduction of the RTS Channel of the Year award with BBC One, BBC Three and Channel 4 all nominated.

Ant and Dec are nominated in two categories, receiving nods in the Entertainment category for Ant and Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway, up against BBC One’s Strictly Come Dancing and Dave’s Taskmaster, and the Entertainment Performance category, which they won in 2016, for I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out of Here!. They are nominated alongside Romesh Ranganathan for BBC Three’s Asian Provocateur and Adam Hills, Alex Brooker and Josh Widdicombe, for their Channel 4 series The Last Leg.

Coronation Street misses out on the Soap and Continuing Drama category with EastEnders, Emmerdale and Hollyoaks all receiving nominations.

Sir David Attenborough is nominated for Presenter for his work on Attenborough and the Great Dinosaur, Grayson Perry (Grayson Perry: All Man) and Richard Ayoade (Travel Man: 48 Hours In Vienna) complete the nominees.

Phoebe Waller-Bridge is nominated for Fleabag in the Breakthrough Award category alongside Nadiya Hussain for The Chronicles of Nadiya and Phillip Wood for Chasing Dad: A Lifelong Addiction.

The winners of the RTS Programme Awards will be announced on 21 March at a ceremony hosted by Sandi Toksvig.

A full list of nominees can be found at the RTS website.