Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Ofcom adds Channel 5 to listed channels

IPTV updates make the channel a qualifying service

Ofcom has added Channel 5 to its list of free-to-view and widely available TV services, in accordance with Parliament’s rules to ensure that events of national interest are available to view live and for free by 95 per cent of the UK population.

The regulator previously rejected Viacom’s request that Channel 5 be added to its list of qualifying services. Viacom updated its IPTV offering to make the service available on its website and via its own apps on a range of popular platforms and devices, thereby making it eligible.

The regulator said in a statement: “In light of developments in how people now watch TV, in particular the increase in online viewing and the use of devices other than television sets, we considered it necessary to update the list of qualifying services.”

The list now consists of:

  • BBC One
  • BBC Two
  • BBC Four
  • CBBC
  • CBeebies
  • BBC News
  • BBC Parliament
  • Channel 3 network (broadcast as ITV, STV, UTV)
  • ITV2
  • ITV3
  • ITV4
  • Channel 4
  • Film 4
  • More 4
  • Channel 5