Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


TVBAwards 2017 shortlist announced

Fourth annual ceremony takes place at the Millennium Mayfair Hotel on 7th June

The shortlist for the TVBAwards 2017 has been announced ahead of the fourth annual ceremony on 7th June.

Six awards which will be presented at the Millennium Mayfair Hotel, London as part of the MediaTech 360 week of events, spearheaded by the centrepiece two-day summit.

The TVBAwards celebrate the many and various success stories in the media and entertainment industry by recognising and rewarding those pushing the boundaries in the production, management, and delivery of today’s media content. Six honours will be awarded this year: Lifetime Achievement, Innovation and R&D, Rising Star, Achievement in Live Production, Overall Broadcast Production, and Achievement in Post Production.

This year’s awards follow on from a successful 2016 ceremony, in which John Holton became the third recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, after Adrian Scott and David Wood.

The full nominations list is as follows, with the Lifetime Achievement Award to be announced at a later date:

Achievement in Live Production

– Cinevideo and Sky Italia: simulcast UHD and HD production using I-MOVIX UHD INFINITE for the Serie A football game between Juventus and AC Milan
– Dejero and Pilgrim Media Group: The Runner
– FOX Sports and Avid: Super Bowl LI
– LiveU and ITN: 18-location live advert for Virgin Holidays
– Mobile Viewpoint and VRT: live broadcast of the ‘Voor de Ronde’, the pre-tour event for the Tour of Flanders

Achievement in Post Production

– Avid: Ha-Mitchem installation
– dock10 post production: The Fighter
– dock10 post production: The Worst Witch
– Technicolor: Victoria

Overall Broadcast Production Award

– ATP Media: ATP World Tour
– Dejero and Pilgrim Media Group: The Runner
– Insight TV and Extreme Video: Masters of the Dirt
– Riedel Communications: MediorNet decentralised and redundant signal routing for Spain’s Gran Hermano VIP (Big Brother VIP)
– Shine TV and Canon: The Hunted

Innovation and R&D Award for Outstanding Technical Achievement

– Harmonic: EyeQ real-time video compression solution
– Massive Interactive: Massive Axis
– Ross Video: ACID camera range
– Sky Vehicle Technology
– Timeline Television’s multi-million pound IP 4K, with simultaneous HDR, outside broadcast vehicle

Rising Star Award

– Massimo Bertolotti, Head of Innovation of Sky Italia
– Open Broadcast Systems
– TV Player
– V-Nova Ltd
– Information Technology