Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


TVBAwards 2016 winners announced

Last night, the European TV industry gathered at the Grand Connaught Rooms near London's Covent Garden to celebrate the year's highest achievements in TV production. The third

Last night, the European TV industry gathered at the Grand Connaught Rooms near London’s Covent Garden to celebrate the year’s highest achievements in TV production. The third annual awards show was compered by comedian Ian Moore and featured the bestowal of a lifetime achievement award on UK broadcast tech luminary John Holton.

Here is the full list of TVBAwards 2016 nominees and winners:

The challenging area of live production is a refined art, and successful productions rely on many component parts working in orchestration to deliver the end result. This category recognises the teams working together to deliver the best in live sports broadcast, live broadcast, and live broadcast sound.

Live sports broadcast
– Cinevideo SRL – UEFA Champions League Final 2016 – Milano
– Avid – ARD and ZDF embrace Avid MediaCentral for Euro 2016 and Brazil’s summer Games
– Suitcase TV – All-IP remote production trial at UEFA Euro 2016 (WINNER)
– Aperi – Aperi delivers on the IP promise at the Euro 2016
– Net Insight AB – Net Insight Helps SVT Deliver Largest Remote Production Over Distance in Europe
– Gearhouse – file delivery network for ITV Sport at Euro 2016
– EVS – Innovative workflow for ITN Productions’ The Football League

Live broadcast production
– Feature Story News – Live Streaming of Historic U.S. Presidential Visit to Cuba
– VRT – EBU LiveIP project (WINNER)
– MOOV – Custom built eight camera live-production fly-away for the PSA World Tour
– ABC/Presteigne Broadcast Hire – Good Morning America On Safari
– Aspera/BASE Media Cloud for delivery of cloud-based solutions for FIA Formula E
– Deluxe MediaCloud/MP & Silva – European NFL delivery

Live broadcast sound
– Riedel/EBU – Eurovision Song Contest (WINNER)
– SIS Live – Rugby World Cup
– ITV – The Sound of Music Live
– National Theatre Live – Hamlet

Highlighting the innovation coursing through the veins of the production and post sector, this category rewards those pushing the envelope in image capture, broadcast audio, and post production.

Achievement in image capture
– Elemental Technologies – High Dynamic Range Video Processing
– Canon – Canon UK / Offspring Films / VMI and Mark Payne-Gill for Monkeys: An Amazing Family
– Aveco – Take 2 Studio production automation, Aveco with customer-development partner SWR Germany
– The Garden Productions Ltd – All Aboard: The Sleigh Ride (WINNER)

Achievement in sound
– Mark Briscoe (head of audio – dock10) – The Five
– Robert Edwards and this team – Britain’s Got Talent, including Live Shows 2015
– BBC R&D – The Turning Forest (WINNER)
– BBC/The Sound Alliance – BBC Proms

Achievement in post production
– Quest TV – 2016 Le Mans 24 Hour Race on Quest UK
– BBC Studioworks – Eastenders
– dock10 – Happy Valley series two (WINNER)
– Timeline Television – Muhammad Ali: The Greatest (BBC Sport/BBC 1)
– dock10 – Match Of The Day (MOTD)

An often overlooked area of expertise, the infrastructure category highlights the impressive work being done in systems integration, archive digitisation, and media asset management.

Best of show @IBC2016 standout award
– Mediabank SaaS product
– Information Technology – v2.0 (flexible panels upgrade) (WINNER)
– Bridge Technologies Nomad

Achievement in archive digitisation
– Mediabank SaaS product
– BBC – BBC VE Day: Remembering Victory
– BFI – BFI National Archive (WINNER)
– TMD – TMD powers new cultural archive project at RTÉ

Achievement in asset management/systems integration
– Tedial – MAM and BPM platform for WIN TV. Distributed Regional News and Production Network
– Vizrt – The PGA’s MAM installation
– Imagine Communications – Sky Italia (WINNER)
– Cantemo – Cantemo Portal implementation for Endemol Shine Australia
– TSL – Marjan TV Networks case study: TSL Systems

As the industry continues its move to more digital and non-linear means, the TVBEverywhere category pays homage to some of the cutting edge systems being used in programming and content provision across the industry. This year’s awards recognise VoD/catch-up and mobile TV provision, social media integration, and multiplatform production and delivery.

Multiplatform production and delivery
– Harmonic and NASA – NASA TV UHD (WINNER)
– Elemental Technologies – SDI over IP Transport
– Vizrt – Vizrt infrastructure for Expressen TV
– Simplestream – At The Races
– TV5 Monde/Pixel Power – StreamMaster

Social media integration
– Quest TV – 2016 Le Mans 24 Hour race on Quest UK
– BBC Productions – Coverage of Tim Peake’s mission to the ISS (WINNER)
– Shotglass Media – Shotglass Media for X-Factor
– NewTek – TriCaster Advanced Edition and Facebook Live enable Turkish broadcaster TRT World to report attempted coup

TV Anywhere solutions: VoD/catch up and mobile TV provision
– Ericsson – VOD infrastructure solution (WINNER)
– DVEO – Atlas Media Server
– Edgeware – Edgeware TV CDN – Dedicated TV service delivery architecture
– Simplestream – BoxNation
– Netgem – Netgem’s multiscreen 4K TV solution for Post Luxembourg

Our new Sustainability category is introduced this year to recognise the invaluable work being done across the industry by individuals, productions, and organisations to improve the sector’s engagement with sustainable business practice.

– Sustainable production
– BBC Blue Peter production team (WINNER)
– BBC (CBeebies) Natural History Unit’s production: Andy’s Prehistoric Adventures
– Eastenders (BBC)
– Loose Women (ITV)

Individual award
– Suzanne Dolan, BBC
– Wendy Wright, BBC drama (WINNER)
– Steve Smith, freelance director & sustainable production consultant
– Tim Scoones, executive producer, BBC Natural History Unit

Business award
– Band Films (WINNER)
– Powerline

A new Hall of Fame initiative has been created to honour the individuals, organisations, and technical advancements that have helped – and are helping – to shape the broadcast and media technology sector as we know it today.

Innovation and R&D award for outstanding technical achievement
– Newstag – Newsshow as a service
– VRT – EBU LiveIP project (WINNER)
– Timeline Television

Start-up/rising star award
– V-Nova
– Accedo

Lifetime achievement award
– John Holton (WINNER)