Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Recipients of 75th Engineering, Science & Technology Emmy Awards announced

NAB, Riedel, Brompton Technology, SmallHD, and the ITU are among the winners of this year's awards

The Television Academy has announced the recipients of the 75th Engineering, Science & Technology Emmy® Awards, with several media and entertainment industry organisations recognised for their contributions to broadcast technology development.

The Philo T. Farnsworth Corporate Achievement Award, which honours an agency, company or institution whose contributions over time have significantly impacted television technology and engineering, has been bestowed upon the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) for “advancing the interests of its members in federal government, industry and public affairs; improving the quality and profitability of broadcasting; encouraging content and technology innovation; and highlighting the important and unique ways stations serve their communities.”

The main Engineering, Science & Technology Emmy Awards recognise an individual, company or organisation for developments in engineering, science and technology “that are either so extensive an improvement on existing methods or so innovative in nature that they materially affect the production, recording, transmission or reception of television and thereby have elevated the storytelling process.” 

This year’s recipients were:

  • Brompton Technology for its Tessera SX40 LED video processor
  • Concept Overdrive: Concept Overdrive Motion System
  • International Telecommunications Union (ITU) — Radiocommunications — Study Group 6 for the Standardisation of High- Dynamic Range Television (HDR-TV)
  • MovieLabs for the Entertainment Identifier Registry (EIDR)
  • pCAM Pro (mobile software application)
  • Riedel for its Riedel Bolero Wireless Intercom
  • SmallHD for the SmallHD Monitor Platform
  • Waves for its Clarity Vx Pro noise-reduction plugin

The Charles F. Jenkins Lifetime Achievement Award has gone to television technology pioneer, Birney Dayton, who was one of the founders as well as CEO and CTO of NVISION. During his career, Dayton helped develop the SMPTE analogue and digital component video standards, was co-chair of the SMPTE high-definition electronic-production working group, and was awarded the SMPTE Progress Medal for his numerous industry-changing digital audio products and technologies.

“Advancements in technology are a fundamental part of television production and greatly contribute to the elevation of the storytelling process,” said Frank Scherma, chair of the Television Academy. “We are honoured to recognise these distinguished and talented engineers, scientists and technologists who are at the forefront of pioneering fundamental advancements in television and storytelling.”

Co-chair Wendy Aylsworth, added, “Half of this year’s recipients are headquartered outside of North America and it’s exciting to see how they are changing the television industry.”

The awards ceremony will be held Wednesday 18 October 2023.