Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


TVBAwards 2016 finalists announced

The finalists for the TVBAwards 2016 have been revealed ahead of the third annual ceremony on 20 October. Eighteen awards which will be presented at the Grand Connaught Rooms

The finalists for the TVBAwards 2016 have been revealed ahead of the third annual ceremony on 20 October.

Eighteen awards which will be presented at the Grand Connaught Rooms next month, including three from the new Hall of Fame initiative, which has been created to honour the individuals, organisations, and technical advancements that have helped – and are helping – to shape the broadcast and media technology sector as we know it today.

“Not only is this our largest intake of TVBAwards nominations, it is also without doubt our most diverse and intriguing, and our shortlist of finalists reflects the high level of quality with which we’ve been inundated over the last few weeks,” said James McKeown, content director of TVBEurope’s parent company, NewBay.

“The TVBAwards initiative was set up with the intention of independently recognising the people and businesses who, more often than not, aren’t granted the recognition they deserve, and we’re delighted to be in a position to celebrate these success stories with the industry.”

Projects shortlisted for an award include high-profile sporting achievements such as the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, UEFA Euro 2016 and the Le Mans 24 Hour race, with Veset and Accedo going head to head for the start-up/rising star award.

TVBEurope will be highlighting each nomination via a series of feature articles on the TVBEurope website.

Tickets are now available from the TVBAwards website.

The full nominations list is as follows:


Live sports broadcast

– Cinevideo SRL for the UEFA Champions League Final 2016 (Milan)
– Avid for Euro 2016 and Brazil’s summer Games
– Suitcase TV for trial of all-IP remote production of Euro 2016
– Aperi for IP delivery of Euro 2016
– Net Insight for ‘largest remote production over distance in Europe’
– Gearhouse for file delivery network for ITV Sport at EURO 2016
– EVS for Innovative workflow for ITN Productions’ The Football League

Live broadcast production

– Feature Story News for US presidential visit to Cuba
– VRT for Sandbox LiveIP
– MOOV for Professional Squash Association production services
– ABC and Presteigne for Good Morning America
Aspera/BASE Media Cloud for delivery of cloud-based solutions for FIA Formula E
– Deluxe MediaCloud/MP & Silva for European NFL delivery

Live broadcast sound

– Riedel and EBU for Eurovision Song Contest
– SIS Live for Rugby World Cup
– ITV for The Sound of Music Live
– National Theatre Live for Hamlet


Achievement in image capture

– Elemental Technologies for HDR video processing
– Canon/VMI/Mark Payne-Gill for Monkeys: An Amazing Family
– Aveco for Take 2 Studio Production Automation
– The Garden Productions for The Sleigh Ride

Achievement in sound

– Mark Briscoe for The Five
– Robert Edwards and his team for Britain’s Got Talent
– BBC R&D for The Turning Forest
– BBC and NEP for BBC Proms coverage

Achievement in post production

– Quest TV for the 2016 Le Mans 24 Hour race
– BBC S&PP for Eastenders
– dock10 for Happy Valley, series two
– Timeline Television for Muhammad Ali: The Greatest
– dock10 for Match of the Day


Best of Show @IBC2016 standout award

– Mediabank SaaS product
– Information Technology for v2.0
– Bridge Technologies for Nomad
– Make.TV

Achievement in archive digitisation

– Mediabank SaaS product
– BBC for VE Day: Remembering Victory
– BFI for its National Archive
– TMD for a new cultural archive project at RTÉ

Achievement in asset management/systems integration

– Tedial for Win TV
– Vizrt for the PGA’s MAM installation
– Imagine Communications for Sky Italia
– Cantemo for Endemol Shine Australia
– TSL Systems for Marjan TV Networks


Multiplatform production and delivery

– Harmonic and NASA for ‘North America’s First Consumer Ultra HD Channel’
– Elemental Technologies for SDI over IP Transport
– Vizrt for Expressen TV
– Simplestream for At The Races
– Pixel Power for StreamMaster

Social media integration

– Quest TV for the 2016 Le Mans 24 Hour race
– BBC Productions for coverage of Tim Peake’s mission to the ISS
– Shotglass Media for X-Factor
– NewTek for TRT

TV Anywhere solutions: VoD/catch up and mobile TV provision

– Ericsson for VoD infrastructures solution
– DVEO for Atlas Media Server
– Edgeware for TV CDN
– Simplestream for BoxNation
– Netgem for Post Luxembourg


Sustainable production

– BBC Blue Peter production team
– BBC for Andy’s Prehistoric Adventures
Eastenders (BBC)
Loose Women (ITV)

Individual award

– Suzanne Dolan, BBC
– Wendy Wright, BBC Drama
– Steve Smith, freelance director and sustainable production consultant
– Tim Scoones, BBC Natural History Unit

Business award

– Band Films
– Powerline


Innovation and R&D award for outstanding technical achievement

– Newstag for Newsshow
– VRT for Sandbox LiveIP
– Timeline Television

Start-up/rising star award

– Veset
– V-Nova
– Accedo

Lifetime Achievement – to be confirmed