Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


European Broadcasting Union elects new board

For the first time, the EBU executive board includes three women

The BBC’s Fran Unsworth, Rai president Marcello Foa, and Thomas Bellut, director general, ZDF, have all been elected to the executive board of the European Broadcasting Union.

Nine board members will join the EBU’s new president Delphine Ernotte Cunci and vice-president Petr Dvořák (Czech TV) to help lead the EBU over the next two years. The Board is responsible for ensuring the implementation of the EBU’s strategy and policies.

Thomas Bellut, Monika Garbačiauskaitė-Budrienė and Fran Unsworth all join the executive board for the first time. Alexander Wrabetz re-joins after a four-year absence.

Incoming EBU President Delphine Ernotte Cunci said: “I’m glad we could gather a great cast of skills and experience and also keep the balance of the geographical, economical and cultural diversity of the EBU Members in the composition of the new executive board. For the first time, I’m also proud to include three women on the board.”

The EBU’s full executive board line-up:

president: Delphine Ernotte Cunci, CEO, France Télévisions (France)
vice-president: Petr Dvořák, director general, Czech TV (Czech Republic)
Thomas Bellut, director general, ZDF (Germany)
Cilla Benkö, director general, SR (Sweden)
Marcello Foa, president, Rai (Italy)
Monika Garbačiauskaitė-Budrienė, director general, LRT (Lithuania)
Giacomo Ghisani, acting director general, RV (Vatican State)
Sebastian Sergei Parker, deputy director general, Channel One (Russia)
Gonçalo Reis, president and CEO, RTP (Portugal)
Fran Unsworth, director of News and Current Affairs, BBC (UK)
Alexander Wrabetz, director General, ORF (Austria)