Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


TVBAwards set for fourth annual ceremony

Six awards are to be presented at the Millenium Mayfair Hotel tonight

Six awards are to be presented at the Millenium Mayfair Hotel tonight as the fourth annual TVBAwards ceremony gets underway.

Part of MediaTech 360 week, the TVBAwards celebrate the many and various success stories in the media and entertainment industry by recognising and rewarding those pushing the boundaries in the production, management, and delivery of today’s media content.

Naomi Climer, former president of the Institute of Engineering and Technology, is to receive the marquee Lifetime Achievement honour, with winners of the remaining awards – Innovation and R&D, Achievement in Live Production, Overall Broadcast Production and Achievement in Post Production – to be announced tonight.

Climer – the first woman to be presented with the award – will be inducted into the TVBEurope Hall of Fame alongside previous winners John Holton, Dr David Wood and Adrian Scott.

The full nominations list is as follows:

Achievement in Live Production

– Cinevideo and Sky Italia: simulcast UHD and HD production using I-MOVIX UHD INFINITE for the Serie A football game between Juventus and AC Milan
– Dejero and Pilgrim Media Group: The Runner
– FOX Sports and Avid: Super Bowl LI
– LiveU and ITN: 18-location live advert for Virgin Holidays
– Mobile Viewpoint and VRT: live broadcast of the ‘Voor de Ronde’, the pre-tour event for the Tour of Flanders

Achievement in Post Production

– Avid: Ha-Mitchem installation
– dock10 post production: The Fighter
– dock10 post production: The Worst Witch
– Technicolor: Victoria

Overall Broadcast Production Award

– ATP Media: ATP World Tour
– Dejero and Pilgrim Media Group: The Runner
– Insight TV and Extreme Video: Masters of the Dirt
– Riedel Communications: MediorNet decentralised and redundant signal routing for Spain’s Gran Hermano VIP (Big Brother VIP)
– Shine TV and Canon: The Hunted

Innovation and R&D Award for Outstanding Technical Achievement

– Harmonic: EyeQ real-time video compression solution
– Massive Interactive: Massive Axis
– Ross Video: ACID camera range
– Sky Vehicle Technology
– SoftAtHome: Video 360
– Timeline Television’s multi-million pound IP 4K, with simultaneous HDR, outside broadcast vehicle

Rising Star Award

– Massimo Bertolotti, Head of Innovation of Sky Italia
– Open Broadcast Systems
– TV Player
– V-Nova Ltd
– Information Technology