Patrick Griffis appointed SMPTE president

M2A Media's Marina Kalkanis elected governor for the United Kingdom region
Publish date:

SMPTE has announced the appointments of new officers and governors for the 2019-2020 term.

Patrick Griffis, vice president of technology in the Office of the CTO at Dolby Laboratories, will take office as the new SMPTE president on 1st January, 2019.

Hans Hoffmann, senior manager, media production technologies, for the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) Technology and Innovation department, will serve as executive vice president; Sara Kudrle, product marketing manager at Imagine Communications, has been appointed education vice president; and John E. Ferder, director of engineering at MultiDyne Video and Fiber Optic Systems, will serve as secretary-treasurer.

SMPTE has also elected a number of new governors to represent regions around the world with M2A Media CEO Marina Kalkanis elected governor for the UK region and François Abbe, president and founder of Mesclado, re-elected for the Europe, Africa, Middle East, Central and South America Region. The DPP's Mark Harrison will also continue to represent the UK as he was not up for re-election.