Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


GTC announces 2010 award winners

The 37th annual Guild of Television Cameramen Awards event was held at the British Film Institute, London, on September 28.

The 37th annual Guild of Television Cameramen Awards event was held at the British Film Institute, London, on September 28.

The ceremony celebrated not only the high standards achieved by the award winners during the past year, but also the contribution made by all cameramen to advancing and enhancing their craft.

GTC President Dick Hibberd introduced two keynote speakers, Patrick Younge (Chief Creative Officer of BBC Vision Productions) and BBC presenter Nick Knowles.

Patrick Younge thanked the cameramen in the audience on behalf of all production staff at the BBC for their dedication: “I salute your perseverance and your craft. What connects all of us is our common commitment to making outstanding programmes. The intention of the BBC is to spend 80p of every £1 of the licence fee on content and ensure that the audience is entertained”.

Nick Knowles said: “I am always in awe of your profession, and I wouldn’t have a job if you weren’t here.” With reference to programme budget cuts and the ever increasing use of self-shooting productions, Nick said, “It is the erosion of the importance of the cameraman and the crew I worry about.” 

The 2010 GTC Award winners comprised:

Awards for Excellence in Drama: John Hembrough for Desperate Romantics.

Awards for Excellence in Entertainment: Mic Waugh for OK Go; This Too Shall Pass. 

Awards for Excellence in Natural History: Rod Clarke for his camerawork on the monarch butterfly in Life.

Awards for Excellence in Multi-Camera: Vince Spooner and crew for their work on 2009 BBC Proms – A Celebration of MGM Film Musicals.

Awards for Excellence in Factual: Will Edwards for Art and Sea in Pictures.

Awards for Excellence in Extreme Conditions: Andrew Thompson for Mugabe and the White African.

Mike Baldock Award: John Tye for his camerawork with the Dreamflight charity.

Television Cameraman’s Award (TiCA) for fostering and improving the art and craft of the professional television cameraman: Bill Vinten (youngest son of William Vinten who 100 years ago founded the camera and camera-support manufacturing company to which he gave his name). The 2009 GTC TiCA winner, Alan Roberts, presented the award to Bil (pictured above)l. Bill Vinten in turn dedicated his award to all of the Vinten employees for their hard work over the years, and their contribution to the company’s success.

GTC Chairman, Graeme McAlpine stated: “We were delighted to present Bill Vinten with our TICA award for 2010. It is the Guild’s biggest accolade. Vinten’s innovative products have undoubtedly changed the world of broadcasting. The family and the company have provided cameras and cameramen with 100 fantastic years of support”.

GTC Fellowships were given to: John Hoare (GTC Treasurer from 2004 to 2010) and Brian Rose (GTC Chairman from 2007 to 2010).