Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


The Crown leads BAFTA Television Awards nominations

The drama has received five nominations, including Best Drama and a Leading Actress nod for Claire Foy

Netflix’s The Crown leads the nominees at this year’s Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards.

The drama has scored five nominations, including Best Drama and a Leading Actress nod for Claire Foy.

Her co-stars John Lithgow, Jared Harris and Vanessa Kirby are all nominated in the Supporting categories, each scoring their first BAFTA nomination.

One-off drama Damilola, Our Loved Boy receives three nominations, in Single Drama, Leading Actor (for Babou Ceesay) and Supporting Actress (for Wunmi Mosaku).

Happy Valley receives nominations in Drama Series, Leading Actress (for Sarah Lancashire) and Supporting Actress (for Siobhan Finneran).

Fleabag secures yet more awards nominations with both Phoebe Waller-Bridge and Olivia Colman nominated in the Female Performance in a Comedy category.

Robbie Coltrane, Benedict Cumberbatch, Adeel Akhtar and Babou Ceesay are nominated for Leading Actor.

The Great British Bake Off is nominated in the Features category for the sixth year in a row.

In Sport, Six Nations – England v Wales, The Open, Rio 2016 Olympics and Rio 2016 Paralympics receive nominations.

The Night Of, The People v OJ Simpson: American Crime Story, Stranger Things and Transparent compete in the International category.

In the Soap & Continuing Drama category the nominees are EastEnders, Casualty, Emmerdale and Hollyoaks.

The nominations for the publicly-voted Virgin TV’s Must See Moment are: Game of Thrones: Battle of the Bastards, The Late Late Show with James Corden: Carpool Karaoke with Michelle Obama, Line of Duty: Urgent Exit Required, Planet Earth II: Snakes vs Iguana Chase, Strictly Come Dancing: Ed Balls’ Gangnam Style and Who Do You Think You Are?: Danny Dyer’s Origins

The full list of nominees can be found here.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony hosted by Sue Perkins on Sunday 14th May.