Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Broadcasting Press Guild announces Awards winners

Drama series The Night Manager, The Crown, National Treasure, Line of Duty, The Durrells and The Missing have all been recognised at this year’s Broadcasting Press Guild Awards, voted for by journalists who write about TV and radio.

The winners were announced at a ceremony in London this lunchtime.

Line of Duty and The Durrells star Keeley Hawes picked up the Best Actress award while Robbie Coltrane won Best Actor.

The Night Manager was named Best Drama Series, The Crown won the award for Best Online First/Streaming and the BBC’s adaptation of Agatha Christie’s TheWitness for the Prosecution was named Best Single Drama.

Phoebe Waller-Bridge, actress and writer of the comedy series Fleabag collected the award for Best Writer, while BBC Two’s Mum was named Best Comedy.

Best Documentary Series went to Planet Earth II and Hillsborough won the award for Best Single Documentary. The annual BPG Award for Innovation went to Exodus: Our Journey in Europe (BBC Two) for “the innovative use of mobile phones and crowd-sourced content to tell a compelling story”.

The award for Best Entertainment programme went to The Graham Norton Show, and Alan Partridge: Mid Morning Matters won the award for Best Multichannel (non-PSB) programme.

In its 75th anniversary year, Radio 4’s Desert Island Discs, presented by Kirsty Young, was named Radio Programme of the Year while LBC’s James O’Brien was honoured with Radio Broadcaster of the Year.

The Harvey Lee award for an Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting, which is in the gift of the BPG executive committee, was presented to documentary filmmaker and producer Norma Percy.