News Business

TVBAwards 2016 nominations open

29 July 2016
TVBAwards logo

Nominations are now open for the TVBAwards 2016. The categories have been updated for the event, now in its third year, and eighteen awards will be presented at a ceremony on Thursday 20th October at the Bloomsbury Ballroom in central London.

Nominations can be submitted by anyone working in the broadcast industry and there is no limit to the number of categories in which a company or team can be nominated. Nominations are open until 22 August. Eligible nominees are companies contributing to a project broadcast between 1 August 2015 and 31 July 2016.

The TVBAwards aims to recognise a broad spectrum of work and achievement across the broadcast and media industry. Three awards are available in each of the six categories, including our new Hall of Fame initiative, which has been created to honour the individuals, organisations, and technical advancements that have helped – and are helping – to shape the broadcast and media technology sector as we know it today. Acting as the centrepiece of the awards programme, the Hall of Fame awards recognise three specific areas: innovation and R&D award for outstanding technical achievement; rising star award; and the prestigious lifetime achievement award.

The innovation and R&D award will honour a person or media entity pushing the boundaries in technical development in areas throughout the industry, including (but not limited to) UHD, IPTV, post production technologies, archiving, MAM, acquisition, OTT, and more.

The rising star award will honour an up-and-coming individual or start-up enterprise deemed that has made a significant impact on the sector in the last three years.

The lifetime achievement award will recognise and honour an individual for their outstanding contribution to the broadcast industry. This award is not open to entries, and is decided upon by our independent judging panel.

This year’s lifetime achievement winner will be inducted into the Hall of Fame to join previous winners Dr David Wood, and Adrian Scott.

The Sustainability category has been expanded to encompass an award for sustainable production, as well as two others which will go to both an individual and a business that have performed outstanding work in the improvement of environmental and social conditions.

A full list of categories can be found on the TVBAwards 2016 website and tickets for the event are available now.

Winners will be selected from a shortlist of nominees by an independent panel of distinguished judges representing all segments of the broadcast industry. The shortlist will be announced in September.

Nominations can be made by submitting a proposal of 300 words to The proposal must include the name of the project, the company nominated, key people involved and a statement outlining the reasons for nominations. Supporting video content is highly recommended, and images and additional materials may also be included.

Similar stories