News Business

SMPTE confers Fellow status on eight members

22 August 2014
SMPTE confers Fellow status on eight members

The Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE), has granted SMPTE Fellow membership status to eight industry leaders. This honour is conferred on individuals who have, through their proficiency and contributions to the industries, attained an outstanding rank among members of the Society.

Hanno Basse, chief technology officer at 20th Century Fox Film Corp, oversees technology strategy and engineering.

Thomas G. Edwards, vice president of engineering and development at Fox Networks Engineering and Operations, works on advanced technology projects and the Fox network satellite distribution system.

Joseph J. Kane Jr. specialises in the sciences of electronic imaging and accurate reproduction of video signals on display devices, both of which are the focus of his company, Joe Kane Productions.

John McCoskey is the SMPTE Eastern region governour and executive vice president and CTO at the Motion Picture Association of America, where he is responsible for development and execution of MPAA’s global technology strategy.

Andrew Quested joined the BBC as a trainee engineer in 1978 and became a video editor working across the BBC’s output. As a manager of the SMPTE UK Section, he focuses on career development and education of new graduates and the UK’s new apprenticeship schemes.

Vince Roberts is executive vice president of global operations and CTO at Disney/ABC Television Group.

Jim Starzynski is the director and principal audio engineer at NBCUniversal Advanced Engineering, where he oversees audio technologies and practices for all NBCUniversal television properties.

Colin R. Wright began his career at the Australian Broadcasting Control Board, where he worked on the introduction of colour and stereo sound, and spent 35 years in key engineering roles with Australia’s Seven Network.

Similar stories