News Business

IABM Engineering Student Awards winners revealed

13 August 2013
IABM Engineering Student Awards winners revealed

The IABM has today announced the 10 recipients of its 2013 IABM Engineering Student Awards. The awards programme, sponsored by the Association, recognises high-achieving college students in the fields of broadcast engineering or media technology and offers each winner full financial support for attendance at IBC2013.

The winners are Zoe Wyeth, University of Salford; Julian Theis, RheinMain University of Applied Sciences; Adam Plowden and Amy Tinker, Kingston University; Pierre Hamme-Gerome and Antonin Morel, Université de Valenciennes; Kathryn Savage, Southampton Solent University; Lennard Bredenkamp, HTWK Leipzig; and Evgenii Smirnov and Anna Nikolaeva, St. Petersburg State University of Film and Television. Each winner will receive funding to cover travel, accommodation, and daily expenses for a five-day trip to Amsterdam and registration to attend the IBC2013 conference and exhibition.

"Winning an IABM Engineering Student Award not only has provided me with the fantastic opportunity to attend IBC, but also has given me confidence in myself as a graduate broadcast engineer," said Zoe Wyeth. "I hope to leave the conference knowing more about cutting-edge broadcast technology, having new contacts and friends within the industry, and having had an enjoyable week in Amsterdam!"

The Awards are part of the IABM’s global training initiative programme, created to help increase the industry’s available pool of skilled broadcast engineers and technical staff. This year’s winners were selected based on a 500-word essay explaining how they would be able to benefit from attending IBC2013.

"The Awards are designed to showcase the broadcast and media technology industry to some of the brightest and best students from around the world,” said Roger Crumpton, a founding director and trustee of the IABM Educational Foundation which funds the programme. “While the individual winners gain a significant personal benefit, the awards programme itself promotes the sector and encourages others to gain the knowledge and skills necessary to pursue the exciting career opportunities available. In this sense, the programme benefits not only the 10 winners named today, but the field as a whole."

Picture: Last year’s Award winners at IBC2012

Similar stories