News Business

Finalists announced for IABM Awards

31 August 2011
Finalists announced for IABM Awards

The International Association of Broadcasting Manufacturers today announced the five finalists for its Design & Innovation awards, the winners of which will be revealed at the IABM Awards reception at IBC, writes David Fox.

The five have been whittled down from a shortlist of ten, and have been named as:

Photon Beard, for the PhotonSpot Nova 270 – a new concept in low heat, energy efficient location lighting using Light-Emitting Plasma (Peter Daffarn, Photon Beard’s Managing Director pictured top with a pre-production prototype).

Quantel, for QTube – cloud-based edit and review software that enables a global media workflow so that users can work with content anywhere in the world.

Snell, for Archangel Ph.C-HD – a real-time restoration system for film and video originated content.

Sony, for the BVM-E250 – a 25-inch OLED reference monitor for ultimate picture precision and stability.

Vision Research, for the Phantom v641 – a digital high-speed camera that can shoot full HD at up to 2,560 frames per second, offering ultra-slow motion playback

The awards, which recognise innovation within the broadcast supply industry and are open to any company, include the IABM Peter Wayne Award for Design & Innovation named in honour of Peter Wayne, past IABM chairman and key influencer within the broadcast supply industry and four IABM Awards for Excellence in Design & Innovation.

Each of the finalists will be visited by the 14-person international judging panel during the IBC exhibition and asked to give a product demonstration of their entry. The winners will be announced on the Saturday evening of IBC.

Similar stories