News Production & Post

Bernard Happé Lecture announced

7 February 2012
Bernard Happé Lecture announced

The British Kinematograph Sound & Television Society (BKSTS) has revealed that this year’s Bernard Happé Lecture will be held on 14 February at the Royal College of Art in London.  Dr. James Westland Cain, principal software architect at Quantel, will present the lecture.

Cain will argue that file-based workflows are not worth the loss of agility inherent in them, and that there is an altogether better way of building media workflows. After the lecture there will be an awards ceremony presented by Miss Anita Harris. Honorary Fellowships are to be awarded to Ivan Dunleavy (Pinewood Group), Chris Johns (BSkyB), Simon Gauntlett (DTG) and Scott Holmgren (Molinare). The Technical & Scientific Award will go to Bruce Devlin (Amberfin), the President’s Award to Paul Franklin (Double Negative), and the Matthew Allwork Award to Marc Wolff. Fellowships are to be awarded to Mark Nice (Odeon), Mark Trompeteler, and Alan McCann. A new award, for BKSTS Fellows who have provided exceptional service to the industry, to be known as Master of the Moving Image is to be awarded to two people, Dion Hanson and Paul Schofield (Odeon). Honorary Memberships are to be awarded to John-Paul Smith (Imagineer) and John Harris (Root 6).

Similar stories