News Business
News

Artesyn and Intel to present free webinar

18 November 2014
Artesyn and Intel to present free webinar

Linsey Miller (pictured), director of marketing at Artesyn Embedded Technologies, and Rik Dunphy, senior software architect at Intel’s Data Center Group will present a free webinar on Wednesday 3 December. ‘How to drive up channel density and drive down cost using the Intel technology you already know’ will take place at 8am PST – 11am EST – 4pm GMT – 5pm CET.

Video services such as multiscreen and on-demand at ever-higher resolutions means more codecs need to be supported in broadcast and streaming networks, which is driving transcoding functions in MSO, ISP, CSP, CDN equipment.

Advances in Intel technology and the availability of off-the-shelf add-in acceleration cards means that now is the time for those applications to multiply density without changing the underlying Intel architecture.
Using two example applications, next-day TV OTT content delivery and realtime broadcast ABR transcoding, this webinar will illustrate the dramatic CapEx savings, as applications can use only one server vs up to 24 to handle equivalent densities, while driving down OpEx thanks to lower power and cooling requirements.

The presenters will also show how, through OpenStack and Artesyn’s SharpStreamer technology, applications can also be deployed virtually – taking advantage of cloud provisioning and management – so they are not constrained to bare metal hardware.

At Artesyn Embedded Technologies, webinar presenter Miller drives solutions and partnerships that enable the company’s customers to maximise the performance and efficiency of their server-based technologies. Also presenting, Dunphy focuses on video, media and graphics solutions for cloud and communications markets on Intel’s Data Center Group. Since 2010 he has played a key role in enabling the Intel’s Quick Sync Video for server and embedded deployments through the Intel Media Server Studio.

Registration can be completed here.

www.artesyn.com
www.intel.co.uk

Similar stories
RELATED WHITEPAPERS